The missionary adventures of the Stimpson family

“Five Books” by Jessie

This is a follow-up to Jake’s post, Five Books That’ll Change Your Life. He recommended some really great books there, so I would check that post out after reading this one. I love to read, and there are several books that I’ve read that I often recommend to people, and the following five are some of them. Now, this doesn’t mean that these are my five favorite books, but just ones that I really like and want to tell the world about. So, in no particular order, here they are:

https://i1.wp.com/www.wtsbooks.com/common/images/products/main/images/0310708257m.jpg

Buy on Amazon

1. The Jesus Storybook Bible (Sally Lloyd-Jones)

Yes, this is technically a “children’s” book, but my whole family loves it so much, that I wanted to start with this one. This is not a bible translation, but a bible storybook. It is so well-written and engaging that even adults will like reading it for themselves and the children in their lives. Some of the stories even brought tears to my eyes, as the author portrays the love, gentleness, and absolute passion of God for His people. Over and over you’ll read about “the never stopping, never giving up, unbreaking, always and forever love” of God, a love that is ultimately expressed in the gift of His Son Jesus. The artwork is also really well done, and Naomi and I often sit down with pens, markers, and pastels attempting to draw them ourselves.

https://i1.wp.com/www.orthodoxbookstore.org/ProductImages/books/spirituality_faith/SAF_AndrewMurrayOnPrayer.gif

Buy on Amazon

2. Andrew Murray on Prayer

Ok, this is sort of a cheater recommendation, because it’s really like six books in one. But with classics like “Abide in Christ,” “With Christ in the School of Prayer,” and “Waiting on God,” I couldn’t help but suggest this book. It’s one of my all-time favorites, one of the first books we wanted to have shipped over to us here in Romania (although it may have gotten lost among other things), and one that transformed my understanding of prayer, intercession, and what it means to abide in Jesus day by day and moment to moment.

Buy on Amazon

3. They Speak with Other Tongues (John Sherrill)

This is the “controversial” book in my list. Speaking in tongues is one of those dividing issues in the church today, possibly the weirdest of all the spiritual gifts of the Holy Spirit mentioned in the Bible, and, I think, one of the most under-used gifts that God gave to His people. The author is a journalist (which means it’s extremely well-written) from an Anglican background who initially sets out to write about the gift of speaking in tongues objectively and as a skeptic. As you read amazing true-life stories that he presents, you will also see his mind change regarding this spiritual gift and eventually embrace it as God intended.

I love this book, and it’s one I want to read again. I recommend it to every Christian, whether they believe in the gifts of the Spirit for today or not, because you will see one of the most balanced investigations of it here. And if you already embrace speaking in tongues, this book will inspire you to do it more often for the glory of God.

Buy on Amazon

4. Dreams and Visions (Tom Doyle)

This book is on my list because I just read it recently, as I received it free from Thomas Nelson to preview. Even though I’m a busy mom and missionary wife, I finished this book in two or three days. I loved it because it didn’t get too preachy, but it just presented a lot of stories about Muslims coming to faith in Jesus in journeys that started with supernatural dreams or visions of Jesus. When you read this book, you will get a glimpse of God’s love for the Muslim people and of how He will stop at nothing to reach them. If you’re like me, you also will catch that love in your own heart and want to be a part of this great move of God in the Muslim world!

Buy on Amazon

5. Weight of Glory (C.S. Lewis)

This “book” is really a collection of sermons C.S. Lewis delivered mostly during the time period in which WWII was occurring. “The Weight of Glory” is the first in this collection, and my favorite. In it, Lewis, addresses the fact that Christians often ask so little of God, when He offers so much more. One of my favorite parts: “We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.” And the whole sermon just gets better. I love C.S. Lewis, so I couldn’t have a list of books without something by him on it.

That wraps up my first five in this series. Now you have ten total books to go read from what Jake and I have recommended!

2 responses

  1. The Jesus Storybook Bible is a staple in our household and I order them in bulk to give away as birthday presents. If our friends don’t have one, they know their kid is going to get one at the next birthday party! It is clear on how God planned for Jesus to come as the Savior from the very beginning. Good theology for adults as well as children.

    December 3, 2012 at 4:24 pm

  2. Pingback: Five Books That’ll Change Your Life, Pt. 2 « It Doesn't Matter Where

Leave a Reply

