The missionary adventures of the Stimpson family

A Dream of Unity

The other night I had a really cool dream, and I’ve been thinking about it off and on since then. Like most of my dreams, I don’t remember how it started, but I remember that, at some point, our family and a few others with us were going to engage an enemy in a battle. The dream was not specific about who the enemy was, but it was characterized by this intense darkness.

In the dream, we knew the enemy and its darkness was great, but we were going to fight it anyway. At one point, I turned and looked and saw what I would describe as a parade of churches. There were people marching in groups and coming to fight alongside us. The whole scene reminded me of the scene in the second Lord of the Rings movie, “The Two Towers,” where there was a small army of men against tens of thousands of creepy warriors of Mordor, and then the elves showed up. The parade of churches was like the army of elves coming to fight alongside the army of men, reforging a unity that had been lost.

I don’t remember all the specific church groups, but the one that sticks with me was a group of very “religious” looking women. What I mean by that is that they looked like women from a religious, legalistic church, complete with long hair pulled back under white head coverings and long, plain dresses that looked like those worn by women from the Mennonite communities back where I am from in Virginia. They were standing tall and confident, carrying some sort of banner.

My first reaction to seeing them was a desire not to be associated with them because I didn’t want to be associated with legalistic Christianity and Christians. But almost as soon as I thought this, I felt an impression in my spirit that they, too, were of the Body of Christ, of the same faith, fighting the same enemy, and serving the same Lord. Despite doctrinal differences, all of us churches were fighting the darkness together in unity.

I was reminded after this dream of the words of Jesus to His disciples, “For he who is not against us is on our side.” And I was reminded to pray for unity among all believers so that we can destroy the works of the devil, be a light to the world, and glorify God in heaven.

4 responses

  1. Josiah Miller

    Straight up truth! Thanks Jessie!

    November 7, 2012 at 10:04 pm

  2. Cristiana

    Very cool dream, indeed!

    November 8, 2012 at 7:48 am

  3. Nola Beach

    Wow, Jessie, this gives me goosebumps. God has given you a great gift and insight into what is to come. Women do have to take the bull by the horns. If it wasn’t for a woman saying yes to the Will of God, we would have never had Christ on this earth. I so love you. Mom

    November 8, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    • Annie M. Fisher

      Way cool dream Jessie! They will know we are Christians by our love! Having unity is so important! Love never fails!!! You are awesome! šŸ™‚
      Love and miss you!

      November 9, 2012 at 4:33 am

Leave a Reply

