The missionary adventures of the Stimpson family

Dreaming of Kirk Cameron

God has been moving here, a few Gypsies have given their hearts to Jesus, and we’ve had a number of opportunities to pour into people’s lives lately, young and old, but one of the constant issues we roll over in our minds is how to present more of Jesus and less of the American in us.

God has been showing me that I think about it too much honestly, and sometimes it’s caused me to miss opportunities that He’s put in front of me.  I didn’t even notice I was doing this, stressing about presenting Jesus “correctly,” until a few days ago after I had a really funny dream.

First, close your eyes and picture everyone’s favorite 1980s teen idol, Kirk Cameron.  He was everyone’s favorite 1980s teen idol, right?

So I had this dream that Kirk Cameron was standing outside on a sidewalk and I heard a cheesy infomercial-like voice loudly say, “Kirk, what’s the best way to share the Gospel?”

Kirk said, “Sometimes, I like to pass out tracts.”  Then Kirk demonstrated and started passing out tracts.

“Oh,” said the voice, “but if you pass out tracts, you make litter and some people won’t even look at the tract and it costs money and…” and on and on like this.  “What’s a better way, Kirk?”

Kirk told the voice, “Oh, well, sometimes I do street preaching.”  Then he demonstrated and began preaching on the street.

“Oh,” said the pessimistic voice again, “but if you street preach, some people will get angry, and people won’t understand perfectly what you’re saying, and it’s noisy on the streets and hard to hear one person’s voice…” and on and on.  “What’s a better way, Kirk?”

So then Kirk responded, “Aaah, I also like to develop relationships with people and share Jesus naturally through friendships.”  Then he demonstrated that approach.

Again the voice gave a pessimistic, negative response to Kirk’s approach.  This happened with every approach that Kirk suggested until finally the voice said, “Kirk, the best way to share the Gospel is to listen to the Holy Spirit and do what He says.”

Then I woke up.

We all stress way too much about how we’re sharing the Gospel.  God is telling  us to get up off our butts and go, but we’re sitting around wondering, “Is this the right way?  Do I know all I need to know?  Am I faithfully representing Jesus?  What if I say something wrong?” etc, etc.  So we do nothing.  We sit there quietly in fear, worried to make a mistake.

Just get out there and tell someone about Jesus!  Listen to the Holy Spirit, and do what He says.  It’s not that hard.  You’ll make mistakes, you’ll offend some people, you’ll say something stupid.  That’s just life.  Get over it.  🙂

One response

  1. Kim

    So true! Thank you for sharing. God’s richest blessings on your family and your mission in Romania!!! Love you guys. The Helmbreck Tribe 🙂

    October 22, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Leave a Reply

