The missionary adventures of the Stimpson family

Day 7 – La mulţi ani!

Today was Naomi’s birthday.  She turned 7.  On the 7th of May.  Also our 7th day out of America.  777.  Oooh…

Well, I’m really tired, and when I started these blogs, I promised they’d be short, so tonight I’m actually going to fulfill that promise and give you a shorter posting.

Today, we finally got almost the whole apartment set up.  There’s just a few piles of clothes, files, books, and odds and ends laying around, but it’s actually feeling like home now.  Filip even took Jessie and Susie to a local department store (Carrefour) to buy some of the things we needed, like pots, pans, garbage cans, a microwave, kitchen utensils, etc.  It’ll be nice to use real metal silverware and dishes that don’t bend in half when you try to wash them.

Besides getting a microwave, one of our other victories today was finding the source of the really nasty smell in our apartment.  We went around smelling all the rugs, beds, chairs, and couches until we found the offending item.  The rug in the living room smelled so bad it was filling the whole place with this pungent odor.  We’re not sure what we’ll do with the rug yet.  Maybe roll it up and put it under Susie’s bed.  🙂

We also got to eat Romanian honey and peanut butter, two of the best-tasting things in Romania we’ve had so far.  Romanian honey tastes nothing like any honey I’ve had in America.  It’s so smooth and sweet and buttery on your tongue.  And all we had was the Mega Image store brand, which according to certain sources is not even very good compared to the real stuff straight from the beekeepers.

This was the first day that I woke up and didn’t feel the effects of jet-lag at all.  I was tired, but only because we stayed up way too late last night unpacking.

The kids were really funny today.  While Jessie was out buying stuff for the house, I watched the kids and set up my desk.  Isaac took advantage of my distraction and took a bite out of the wall while I wasn’t looking.  There’s a part of the wall near the balcony where the cement is crumbling a little, so he decided to munch on it.  I took the cement out of his mouth and told him this was unacceptable behavior.  Apparently, Isaac only speaks Romanian because he didn’t seem to understand and did it a second time.  Then I got him a banana.

I’m not going to tell you the funny things the other kids did while Mom was away.  I need to maintain an illusion of professionalism.

Speaking of which, we still haven’t been able to get our washing machine working.  I’m going to try to give our landlord a call tomorrow, to see if he can come by and get it going.  If he doesn’t understand me when I try to speak Romanian over the phone, I’ll just start yelling in tongues really loudly.  Ha ha, only kidding.

So today was Naomi’s birthday, and we got extremely blessed by our new friends at Missio Dei church again.  Irina (with an “i”) and AndreEa (with two “e”s, one of them capitalized) planned a surprise party for Naomi.  I won’t offer a whole play-by-play or anything, but we were blown away.  The cake (tort in Romanian) was literally the best cake I’ve ever had, the appetizers were crazy awesome, the balloons, presents, and noisy things lit up the girls’ eyes, and the love, joy, and hospitality have made us feel part of a really loving family.  Thank you for winning our hearts, Romania!

I lied about the shorter post, didn’t I?  Oh well.  Maybe tomorrow.

7 responses

  1. Jay

    Don’t they have a great soccer team there? And did give up your US citizenship? Glad all is well.

    May 7, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    • I don’t know first-hand about their soccer team, but I’ve heard that as a team they aren’t very good mostly due to poor management but that some of the players are really exceptional. We’re not citizens of Romania yet, so we still have our US citizenship. Romania makes it difficult to become citizens here, and until we can do that, the US won’t even let us renounce our citizenship. And, honestly, I don’t think we would renounce it, even if Romania allowed us to become citizens here, which is highly doubtful.

      May 8, 2012 at 7:46 am

  2. Grandma Karen

    What a sweet day it was! Can’t wait to tell Grandma Honey about your Romanian honey experience!

    May 8, 2012 at 1:37 am

  3. Kim

    Love it keep it coming.

    May 8, 2012 at 2:46 am

  4. Kim

    Great, hide that rug.

    May 8, 2012 at 2:48 am

  5. Put the rug on the bacony under some plastic bro…. I remember when I go my first microwave in Poland it was so exciting….. Great you are adjusting…. I usually fight through jet lag in one day…. Have your figured out transport yet…… blessings!!!

    May 8, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    • Susie and I discussed your comment about fighting through jet lag in a day and we have a slightly different memory from last year in Romania. Love you anyway!

      May 8, 2012 at 6:27 pm

Leave a Reply

