The missionary adventures of the Stimpson family

One of Our Biggest Financial Supporters

One of the coolest, and most humbling, things about doing missions work is the fundraising.  When people talk about sacrificing their cable TV plans or surrendering their dreams for a big family vacation just so we can reach people in Romania, it really causes you to humble yourself.

We’re working our butts off raising funds, learning the language, packing stuff, selling stuff, building up connections, etc, but other people are working hard in factories or schools or office buildings or used car lots, making money so we can go.  Really makes me want to be extra careful with how we spend the money people donate.

Almost two months ago, I was up in the soundbooth at church, getting ready for the worship to begin, when I heard the tell-tale clump, clump clump of a tweener boy bounding up the stairs.  Oh man, I thought, here comes the Sunday morning routine, as I got ready to disappoint another mischievous kid and kick him out of the soundbooth.

Instead, though, an 11-year-old boy popped his head around the corner, holding a crisp $10 bill.

“What’s this?” I asked.

“It’s for Romania.”  He handed me the $10 bill and ran back down the stairs.

“Thanks,” I told his quickly retreating back.

The next week, he clomped up the steps again right before worship would start and this time handed me three crumpled one-dollar bills.  “For Romania,” he proudly told me and, again, ran back downstairs.

The next week, it was $2, then $3 again, another $2, and finally today he handed me two neatly-folded $10 bills.  Every time, he jumps up the stairs, I start smiling, he hands me a wad of cash, announces, “For Romania,” I laugh and say, “You’re awesome!  Thank you,” and he runs back down the stairs.

Now I know this kid’s family, and they’re not crazy rich or anything, so assuming this 11-year-old isn’t selling drugs, stealing money from his parents, or engaged in the illegal sale of weapons of mass destruction, I’m completely in awe of his generosity.  Sure, he doesn’t have bills to pay or kids to feed, but he’s given me $40 total over the past 2 months, which is $40 more than a lot of people I’ve met with to raise funds.  Where is he getting this money?  And how can he just give it so freely?

Seeing his generosity amazes me.

It also causes me to think very carefully about what I’ll do with his donations.  If I don’t use it for Romania, I’ll feel like some high school student stealing candy from middle-schoolers at the homecoming parade.

One response

  1. shannon

    Hey Jake,

    This is such a wonderful story. Thank you for acknowledging (anonymously) that generous 11-yo boy!

    April 2, 2012 at 8:10 pm

Leave a Reply

