The missionary adventures of the Stimpson family

“What’s the right number?”

ImageI don’t think we’ve shared this story here, so I wanted to give a quick testimony of something cool God did for us a few months ago.  We’d been working hard trying to learn Romanian, but it was a slow and grueling process because the resources aren’t as abundant as for the big languages like Spanish, French, German, etc.  Even Chinese and Russian have more resources out there.  With only 20 million speakers and no real worldwide influence (yet), Romanian isn’t much sought-after as a language.

So we bought all the books we could find, some audio lessons, movies, and found some free software online (byki), and we were slowly but surely working our way through everything.  It was frustrating though, because we weren’t quite sure how our pronunciation was, and it was difficult to decipher some of the more complex aspects of the grammar.

We looked for classes, more software, anything that would work better than what we had, and nothing was turning up.

While doing a support-raising meeting, the person I met with told me, “Hey, you should give Vin and Jess a call.  They just got back from Moldova, where they speak Romanian, and Vin and Jess got extremely fluent in the language.  And I think they live a couple blocks from you guys.”

Turns out they did live just a couple blocks from us, so I tried calling them right away.  No one answered.  I tried a few days later and still no one.  I tried at least once a week for a month, leaving voicemails every time, and never spoke with a person.  So I just gave up and we went back to learning on our own.

One night, as I was calling people to schedule support meetings, I thought, “You know what?  I’ll give Vin and Jess another call.  It’s been a while, maybe I’ll reach them tonight.”

I grabbed the phone, dialed, and waited to hear the usual answering machine message.  Instead I got a very rushed, “Hello?”

“Hi,” I said, taken off-guard that I was speaking to an actual human, “are Vin or Jess home.”

“No, you’ve got the wrong number.”

Then, rather than just saying the normal, “Oh, OK, sorry for bothering you,” I asked the mysterious rushed voice, “What’s the right number?”

“Hold on, I’ll be right back.”  A minute or two of holding the phone and waiting in silence.  “OK, here it is…” and then she gave me a new number to call.

I called the number, talked to Vin, and the next morning he walked over to our house to give us our first real, live Romanian lesson.

I love how God works.  We needed a tutor, so he had one come back from Moldova for us, had him live a couple blocks from our house, gave us a wrong number to reach him, and then brought him right to our door.  Praise God!

2 responses

  1. Kimberly Hess

    SO SO SO SOS OS SSO SO SOSOOOOOO COOL!!:D 😀

    April 2, 2012 at 10:14 am

  2. chiso

    i can only smile to God almighty

    April 2, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Leave a Reply

